In combat, rather than Cycles, Rounds are used as the basic unit of time. Player turn order is decided using an Initiative check.
- Flow of a Round
The following steps are resolved each round of combat in order from A to E.
A: Initiative Check
B: Adventurer Actions (Advance)
C: Enemy Actions
D: Adventurer Actions (Late)
E: Additional Actions
- Initiative Checks
Each player will make this check at the beginning of each round of combat to decide during what step of the round they will take their action. The Specialty for the Initiative check is decided using the following table.
Players that succeed at the Initiative check will take action during the Adventurer Actions (Advance) step, while those that fail at the check will take action during the Adventurer Actions (Late) step.
Player order within the Advance or Late steps is left up to the players to decide.
- Adventurer Actions
Each character can choose 1 of the following actions to take each round.
The player selects one of the Attack type Abilities their character possesses and selects a target. Or, without selecting an Ability, the player selects a weapon they have equipped and selects a target. If the player succeeds at the Specialty check indicated by either the Ability or the weapon they have selected, they apply the effect of the Ability or weapon to the target. This is known as a Hit check.
If you roll a Critical/Fumble on your Hit check, use the appropriate Crit/Fumble table to determine the effect of the Crit/Fumble.
Select 1 other adventurer as a target and, if possible, select 1 Support type Ability your character possesses. No check is necessary. The target can add the effect of your Support Ability to their next attack.
Abilities used in this way are not subject to the rule: ‘Only 1 Support type Ability can be combined with a single attack’. Rebound for an Ability used in this way is paid when the target character declares their attack which is affected by the Cooperative Attack action.
The effect of a Cooperative Attack lasts until the end of the Round in which it is used.
Use an Assist type Ability or Item. Also, you can take an action declared by the GM to be acceptable as an Assist type action.
If you succeed at a <Flee> Specialty check, you may withdraw from combat.
Equip a Weapon
You may equip a weapon stored in one of your Bag type items.
You may give or take 1 item to/from 1 ally.
You may put 1 item into a Bag or take 1 item out of a Bag.
You may choose to take no action.
- Damage and Area Damage
When an attack damages a target, that damage is subtracted from the target’s [Stamina] as long as the target’s [Stamina] is not 0. If the damage would reduce the target’s [Stamina] below 0, or if damage is dealt when their [Stamina] is already at 0, the attack will cause Body Damage.
When Body Damage is caused, use the Body Part Chart to determine which Body Part is Damaged. If the Body Part selected in this way is already Damaged, re-roll.
A Damaged Body Part cannot be used for any checks. Also, the Abilities in the 8 squares surrounding the Body Part (do not count gaps) cannot be used.
Whenever you take Body Damage, you must roll a Death check. Roll 1D6. If the result is greater than the number of your character’s Body Parts that are currently damaged, you succeed. If the result is lower than the number of your character’s Body Parts that are currently damaged, you fail and your character dies.
Before making a Death check, you may declare that 1 weapon you have equipped has broken. In exchange for discarding this weapon, you may cancel the Death check.
After rolling your Death check, you may use as many [Willpower] as you wish to increase the result, with 1 [Willpower] increasing the result by 1.
A [Boss] in the [Full Power] state cannot utilize this action.
4.2. Enemy Death
Like adventurers, a [Boss] will make a Death check once their [Stamina] hits 0.
All enemies aside from [Boss] types die immediately when their [Stamina] hits 0. The GM may instead decide that the enemy is rendered [Helpless].
- Enemy Actions
Enemies can take similar actions to adventurers.
Same as adventurer action. The number of Assist-type actions a [Boss] can combine with each attack is increased according to their level.
Same as adventurer action.
Only a [Boss] may take this action. A [Boss] may declare this action at any time after their [Willpower] has been reduced to less than 1/2 . Declaring this action does not count as the [Boss]’s action for that round. After declaring this action, the [Boss] enters the [Full Power] state. On the round the [Boss] switches from a normal to a [Full Power] state, they can take 1 additional action. While in a [Full Power] state, the Rebound for all the [Boss]’s Abilities is reduced to 0, and the target for their Evasion checks is reduced by -2. While in a [Full Power] state, a [Boss] cannot use [Willpower] to increase the results of their Death checks.
If a [Boss] is [Helpless], they may declare this action 1 time per Round. By succeeding at a <Yell> specialty check, the [Boss] can recover 1 [Willpower]. This action ignores the rule against taking actions while [Helpless].
Same as adventurer action.
Both adventurers and enemies can attempt to evade attacks.
Evasion checks are made after a Hit check has succeeded and Damage has been decided. If Area Damage needs to be decided, the Evasion check should be made after the Area has been decided.
The Target Specialty of the Evasion check is the same as the Target Specialty used for the Hit check of the attack. Unlike the Difficulty of normal specialty checks, the Difficulty of an Evasion check is X+Y where X = the result of the Hit check of that attack and Y = the number of spaces between the Target Specialty and the nearest Specialty you have. If you roll a Critical while making an Evasion check, use the Critical Evasion chart to determine the outcome.
If you succeed at an Evasion check, the attack fails and has no effect.
Only one Evasion check can be made per attack. Making an Evasion check costs 1 [Willpower].
You may also Fumble during an Evasion check. Please check the Evasion Fumble Table to determine the outcome.
- Extra Actions
Under certain circumstance a <Boss> can take more than one action in a single Round. These are called Extra Actions. These actions are taken after the Adventurer Actions (Late) Phase.
Adventurers can also take extra actions. These actions are also taken after the Adventurer Actions (Late) Phase, but whether they take place before or after the extra action of the <Boss> depends on the Initiative check made for that Round.
Using the Ability [Habit] during 1 Round, or through the rolling of Criticals, the same character may be able to take multiple Extra Actions.
- Criticals and Fumbles During Combat
During combat, when a Critical is rolled on a Hit check, an effect from the Hit Critical table is added to the normal effect of the attack. If a Fumble is rolled, the effect of the Fumble is chosen by rolling on the Hit Fumble table. If a Fumble is rolled while making an Evasion check, the effect of the Fumble is chosen by rolling on the Evasion Fumble table.
- Status Ailments
Some character Abilities and Item effects can cause status ailments. All status ailments are removed at the end of combat. Ailments may also be removed through the effects of Critical rolls, Items, Abilities or under special circumstances laid out in the Ailment descriptions. If you are afflicted with 2 or more Ailments, you may choose which Ailment is cured by a given effect.
Identical Ailments cannot be stacked on a single target.
- Helpless State
When anyone’s [Willpower] reaches 0, they cannot take any further actions until the end of combat. When combat ends, they are no longer [Helpless]. When the [Helpless] state is removed, the sufferer’s [Willpower] is increased to 1. Also, if by some effect the sufferer’s [Willpower] is increased to 1 or above during combat, they will be freed from the [Helpless] state. Characters who are [Helpless] are always considered to be ‘Done’ with their Actions during every Round.
[Helpless] characters can still take actions such as Initiative checks that would not be counted as their Action for a round.
If a character is made [Helpless] outside of combat, their [Willpower] will return to 1 after the Action being performed is resolved.